The information in this section was compiled by: Caesar A. Carrino, Ph.D, Wadsworth native and Mayor of Wadsworth from 2000 to 2004.

History Overview

From the effort in felling the first tree in 1814 to the exhaustive efforts in moving Wadsworth ahead as waves of people flock to live in our city, Town One, Range Thirteen [as it was known when founded] is now an expanding entity, a product of people who moved here to relish the quaint small-town atmosphere where they could rear their families away from the large urban areas.

An irony, of sorts, is that they very reason for coming to Wadsworth is what is changing Wadsworth. Perhaps the Dean and Durham families reflected similarly when they saw the third family move in. Whatever the case, today's activities will be tomorrow's history. And so it will always be.

Geographical Regions

At one time, the entire reserve was under the jurisdiction of Trumbull County with the county seat being in Warren. Trumbull County was divided in 1807 and became Portage County. Wadsworth first belonged to Portage County but was united with Medina County in 1818 when Portage County was further divided.

Medina County, at that time, included the townships of Norton, Copley, Bath and Richfield to the east, and Grafton, Sullivan, Penfield and Huntington to the west in addition to the 17 townships which presently comprise Medina County:

  • Brunswick Hills
  • Chatham
  • Granger
  • Guilford
  • Harrisville
  • Hinckley
  • Homer
  • Layfayette
  • Litchfield
  • Liverpool
  • Medina
  • Montville
  • Sharon
  • Spencer
  • Wadsworth
  • Westfield
  • York